• Cloud Nine

    Cloud Nine

    The Falcon's Eye Theatre's spring production will run April 17-May 3
    morenews
  • Campus Safety Forums

    Campus Safety Forums

    Join us for forums on college safety on April. 28 & 29
    morenews
  • Class schedules now online

    Class schedules now online

    The Summer and Fall class schedules are online now! Click on the photo for more info.
    morenews
  • Student Art Show

    Student Art Show

    Annual Art Exhibition runs through May 10 at Harris Center for the Arts
    morenews
  • Graduation

    Graduation

    FLC's 2015 Commencement Ceremony will be held Wed., May 20 at 6:30pm
    morenews
  • Summer Transferable Classes

    Summer Transferable Classes

    This summer, FLC offers a wide variety of classes that are transferable to CSU and/or UC.
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Career Planning Spring 2014

Career Planning

FLC PISO
January 14, 2014

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

The Career and Transfer Services Center (located at the Folsom campus in the Falcon's Roost, Lower Level, room FR-115) is a resource center designed to assist Folsom Lake College students in developing their career plans and the skills necessary to pursue their future careers. Resources include workshops, computer lab access, research guidance, hardcopy and virtual resources, and access to a step-by-step Career Encounter Program.

Check out the Spring 2014 Workshop Series (Open to ALL FLC students):

You Should Really Think About It: Discover how Conscious Decision Making and Goal Setting are essential for succeeding in college, career and life.
Thurs., Feb. 20 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Mar. 10 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., Apr. 29 12:00-1:00pm

Learning and Earning: This workshop addresses the Art of Balancing School, Work and Life, and provides resources and tips for overcoming the "Balancing" challenges that college students face.
Wed., Feb. 26 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., Mar. 18 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Apr. 9 12:00-1:00pm

Get Job Ready: Receive resume building and interview resources, tips, and techniques, and learn about the importance of polished soft skills.
Thurs., Feb. 13 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Mar. 5 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., Apr. 22 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., May 13 12:00-1:00pm

Need help choosing a career direction?

Students are encouraged to participate in the Career Encounter Program. This program moves students through essential planning activities in the following areas:
* Self-Discovery
* Career Exploration
* Decision Making and Goal Setting
* Connecting Career and Academic Interest

Please note: The majority of Career Encounter Program steps are completed individually by students, in the Career Center Lab, or by using an internet access device with printing capability, at the student's
convenience. Career Encounter Program Step-By-Step instructions are available in the Career and Transfer Services Center.

The workshops and activities below are Open to Career Encounter Program participants only.

Step 1 Workshop: Career Counselors answer Step 1 questions, provide assessment and activity results insight and prepare you for Step 2 and 3.
Mon., Feb. 3 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Feb. 6 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Mar. 3 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., Mar. 11 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Mar. 20 12:00-1:00pm
Tues., Apr. 1 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Apr. 7 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., May 1 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., May 12 12:00-1:00pm

Step 4 Workshop: Making The Connection-Connecting Career and Academic Interest: Career Counselors discuss career interests, and recommend strategies to connect your career interests to your academic planning., and help you develop a career plan to reach your goals.
Tue., Feb. 18 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Feb. 24 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Mar. 24 12:00-1:00pm
Tue., Mar. 25 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Apr. 24 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Apr. 28 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., May 15 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., May 19 12:00-1:00pm

Career Counselor Appointments: Career Encounter Program participants who have completed steps 1-4 are eligible for a scheduled, 30 minute (individual) Career Counselor appointment. To schedule
appointment call (916) 608-6526 or visit the Career and Transfer Services Center during business hours.

For more information, stop by the Career and Transfer Services Center (open M-Th 8:30am-5pm and F 8:30am-4:30pm) or contact them at: flc-careertransfer@flc.losrios.edu or 916-608-6526.