• Gear Up for Fall

    Gear Up for Fall

    The Fall semester starts August 23. Click on the photo for helpful tips to prepare!
    morenews
  • Textbook Scholarships

    Textbook Scholarships

    Scholarship drawing for $250 towards your textbooks- deadline to enter is Aug. 29
    morenews
  • Sign up for Fall

    Sign up for Fall

    Find your success - enroll now! Fall classes start August 23. Click on the photo to get started.
    morenews
  • Live Debate

    Live Debate

    Congressional candidates Bera, Ose agree to debate on Oct. 8
    morenews
  • Looking for open classes?

    Looking for open classes?

    Fall classes are available! Click on the photo for info.
    morenews
  • Spotlight Night

    Spotlight Night

    FLC presents a career exploration fair on Wed., Sept. 10 from 6-8pm
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
August 15, 2014

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the Fall:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered this Fall to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

On Course:
Accept Self-Responsibility
Wed., Sept. 3 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Discover Self-Motivation
Tues., Sept. 16 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Master Self-Management
Tues., Oct. 7 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Employ Interdependence
Wed., Oct. 22 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campu,s Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Gain Self-Awareness
Tues., Oct. 28 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Adopt Life-long Learning
Mon., Nov. 3 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Develop Emotional Intelligence
Tues., Nov. 18 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Believe in Yourself
Tues., Dec. 2 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Study Skills
Tues., Sept. 9 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Sept. 11 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217

Plagiarism:
Plagiarism (Parts 1 & 2)
Tues., Sept. 9 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217
Plagiarism Part 1
Wed., Sept. 17 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Plagiarism Part 2
Thurs., Oct. 16 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Math Strategies
Mon., Oct. 13 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Oct. 23 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-202

Time Management
Tues., Oct. 14 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 15 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-214

Clear Writing, Clear Science
Tues., Oct. 21 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

How to be an Effective Student and Avoid Self-Sabotage
Wed., Oct. 29 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217

Test Taking
Tues., Nov. 4 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Nov. 6 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Cente,r C-202

TUTORING
Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, El Dorado Center, and Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule.

LIBRARY
Power up your library skills with free drop-in instruction at the main Folsom campus. There are a variety of dates and times for your convenience. For the full schedule, click here. For questions and to sign up, contact James Telles at (916) 608-6528 or tellesj@flc.losrios.edu

CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE, & INTERNSHIPS
Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops. All workshops will be held in the Career and Transfer Services Center, Lower Level of Falcon's Roost room FR-115, unless otherwise noted.

Major Decisions (Strategies for Choosing a Major)
Wed., Sept. 10 from 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Sept. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Oct. 9 from 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Oct. 29 from 12:00-1:00pm
Tues., Nov. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm
Tues., Dec. 9 from 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Dec. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm

You Should Really Think About It (Decision Making and Goal Setting)
Tues., Sept. 9 from 12:00-1:00pm
Mon., Oct. 13 from 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Nov. 13 from 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Dec. 3 from 12:00-1:00pm

Learning and Earning (Balancing School and Work)
Thurs., Sept. 4 from 12:00-1:00pm
Tues., Oct. 7 from 12:00-1:00pm
Wed., Nov. 5 from 12:00-1:00pm
Thurs., Dec. 11 from 12:00-1:00pm

Get Job Ready (Resume and Interview Overview)
Wed., Sept. 24 from 12:00-1:30pm
Tues., Oct. 21 from 12:00-1:30pm
Wed., Nov. 12 from 12:00-1:30pm
Tue., Dec. 2 from 12:00-1:30pm

Find Your Purpose
Thurs., Oct. 23 from 3:00-4:30pm
Thurs., Nov. 6 from 3:00-4:30pm

Effective Job Search Techniques
Tues., Oct. 14 from 12:00-1:00pm

How to Find a Job with the State of CA
Wed., Oct. 15 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Peregrine Room

Finding Your Ideal Internship
Wed., Nov. 5 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Nov. 13 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217

WELLNESS
Better manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniquies for decreasing and handling stress.

Meditation Group
Every Thurs, Sept. 4 - Dec. 4 from 12:00-1:00pm, Main Folsom campus, PE-112

Gotta Sleep? Workshop
Wed., Sept. 10 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

From SOS to SSO (Stop Stressing Out!)
Tues., Sept. 16 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217
Wed., Sept. 24 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Health and Wellness Day
Wed., Oct. 1 from 10:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Quad

The Seven-Fold Path to Stress Release
Tues., Oct. 7 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217
Wed., Oct. 8 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Write Your Way to Wellness
Thurs., Oct. 23 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Take a Breath & Release the Stress
Tues., Nov. 4 from 12:00-1:00, El Dorado Center, C-217
Wed., Dec. 3 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238

How to Manage Anxiety Workshop
Wed., Nov. 19 from 12:00-1:00, Main Folsom campus, Cypress Hall, FL2-238