• Auditions for Fall Play

    Auditions for Fall Play

    Falcon’s Eye Theatre auditions for its fall production of "Rhinoceros" Mon., Aug. 31
    morenews
  • Fall begins

    Fall begins

    The Fall semester starts August 22. Click on the photo for helpful tips to prepare!
    morenews
  • Looking for open classes?

    Looking for open classes?

    Fall classes are available! Click on the photo for info.
    morenews
  • Spotlight Night

    Spotlight Night

    Join us for a special open house event on Thurs., Sept. 10 from 6-8pm
    morenews
  • Rancho Cordova Center

    Rancho Cordova Center

    Folsom Lake College ramps up for opening of new site
    morenews
  • Labor Day

    Labor Day

    Folsom Lake College will be closed on Monday, Sept. 7 in observance of Labor Day
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
January 16, 2015

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the Spring:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered this Spring to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

Study Skills and Learning Styles
Tues., Feb. 3 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238
Thurs., Feb. 5 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-101

On Course - Accept Personal Responsibility
Wed., Feb. 4 from 5:00-5:50pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238
Mon., Feb. 9, from 12-12:50pm Folsom campus, Soar Central, Fl2-238
Tues., Feb. 10, 12-12:50pm, Rancho Cordova Center, room 15

Plagiarism: 
Plagiarism (Parts 1 & 2) Tues., Feb. 10 from 12:00-1:00pm, El dorado Center C-217
Plagiarism Part 1 Tues.,  Feb. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238
Plagiarism Part 2 Tues., Feb. 24 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

On Course - Discover Self-Motivation
Tues., Feb.17, 12-12:50pm, El Dorado Center, C-217

How to be an Effective Student and Avoid Sabotage

Wed., Feb. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-201
Thurs., Feb. 19 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

Math Strategies
Wed., Mar. 11 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217

Time Management
Tue., Mar. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238
Wed., Mar. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217

Clear Writing, Clear Science
Tue., Mar. 24 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus Soar Central, FL2-238

Test Taking Strategies

Tues., Apr. 14 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folosm campus, Soar Central, FL2-238
Wed., Apr. 15 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217

TUTORING
Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, El Dorado Center, and Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule.

CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE, & INTERNSHIPS
Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops. All workshops will be held in the Career and Transfer Services Center, Lower Level of Falcon's Roost room FR-115, unless otherwise noted.

Conversation with the Pros:
Careers in Purchasing
Wed., Feb 11 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Project Management Careers
Tues., Mar. 3 from 12:00 - 1:00pm, Folsom campus, Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Engineering Careers
Wed., Mar. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Careers with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Thurs., Apr. 23 from 3:00-4:00pm, Folsom campus, Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Medical Lab Technology Careers
Wed., April 29 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217
Law Enforcement Careers
Thurs., May 6 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Resume Writing
Thurs., Feb. 26from  12:00-1:30pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115
Mon., Apr. 6 from 12:00-1:30pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115

Job Search for Veterans
Thurs., Feb. 12 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115

Interview Strategies
Thurs., Mar. 5 from 12:00-1:30pm,, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115
Mon., Apr. 13 from 12:00-1:30pm, Folosom campus, Career Center, FR-115

Resume & Interview
Thurs., Mar. 12 from 12:00-1:30pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115
Mon., Apr. 27 from 12:00-1:30pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115

Find your Purpose
Thurs., Mar. 19 from 3:00-4:30pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-115

Finding your Ideal Internship
Tue., Apr. 7 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campsu, Soar Central, FL2-238
Thurs., Apr. 16 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217

Networking and Social Media
Tues., Apr. 28 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career Center, FR-119

CAREER EXPLORATION, CHOOSING A MAJOR & TRANSFER PREPAREDNESS
Take advantage of the services available to you to assure your success.

Choosing a Major
Wed., Feb. 4 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Thurs., Feb. 19 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Wed., Mar. 11 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Tues., Mar. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Thurs., Apr. 9 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Wed., Apr. 22 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Thurs., May 7 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Wed., Feb. 11 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Tue., Mar. 3 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Wed., Apr. 15 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Thurs., May. 14 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

Balancing School and Work
Tues., Feb. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Wed., Mar. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Thurs., Apr. 23 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Wed., May 6 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

How to Qualify for a Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)
Mon., May 4 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU and UC
Mon., Apr. 20 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

CSU Mentor
Tues., Apr. 14 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115
Tues., May 12 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Career & Transfer Center, FR-115

WELLNESS
Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniquies for decreasing and handling stress.

Gotta Sleep
Wed., Feb. 4 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

How to Manage Anxiety
Wed., Feb. 18 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

EnVISION Your Future
Tues., Mar. 3 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217
Wed., Mar. 4 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

Write your Way to Wellness
Tue., Mar. 17 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center, C-217
Thurs., Mar. 19 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

The Art of Thought
Wed., Mar. 25 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

7-Fold Path to Stress Release
Tue., Apr. 7 from 12:00-1:00pm, El Dorado Center C-217
Wed., Apr. 8 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238

Take a Breath and Release Stress
Wed., May 6 from 12:00-1:00pm, Folsom campus, Soar Central, FL2-238