• Fast-Track classes

    Fast-Track classes

    While most Fall classes have begun, there are a variety of classes that start throughout the semester.
    morenews
  • Spotlight Night

    Spotlight Night

    Join us for a special CTE open house event on Tues., Sept. 26 from 5:30-7:30pm
    morenews
  • Supporting Student Success

    Supporting Student Success

    Folsom Lake College offers a variety of free workshops to help students succeed
    morenews
  • Fall Blood Drive

    Fall Blood Drive

    It's time for the FLC Fall Blood Drive!
    morenews
  • Makerspace Grant

    Makerspace Grant

    FLC awarded $250K for Makerspace initiatives
    morenews
  • Transfer Day

    Transfer Day

    FLC's Annual Transfer Day on Wed., Sept. 20 features a wide variety of 4-year universities
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops Fall 2016

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
August 29, 2016

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the Fall:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered this Spring to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

Study Skills and Learning Styles
Tue., Sept. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Time Management
Tue., Oct. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Oct. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Mindset & Grit
Wed., Oct. 19, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Exam Preparation
Tue., Nov. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

On Course:
Accept Self-Responsibility
Tue., Aug. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Aug. 31, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Aug. 31, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238 

Discover Self-Motivation
Tue., Sept. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 14, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Master Self-Management
Tue., Sept. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 28, 12:00- 1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 28, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Employ Interdependence
Tue., Oct. 11, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 12, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Gain Self-Awareness
Tue., Oct. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 26, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 26, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Adopt Life-Long Learning
Tue., Nov. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 9, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Develop Emotional Intelligence
Tue., Nov. 29, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 30, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Believe in Yourself
Tue., Dec. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Dec. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Dec. 7, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

TUTORING
Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, El Dorado Center, and Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule.

CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE & INTERNSHIP
Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops.

Conversation with the Pros:
Careers in Administration of Justice
Tue., Oct. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Careers in Computer Sciences
Tue., Oct. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Careers in English and Liberal Studies
Wed., Nov. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Resume/Cover Letter Construction
Wed., Sept. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Leadership Skills for Students
Thurs., Sept. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Employer Showcase
Wed., Sept. 28, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Employer Showcase
Wed., Oct. 19, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

LaunchPath/LINCS
Wed., Oct. 19, 12:15-1:15pm, FLC Aspen Hall, FL1-7

The Importance of Soft Skills in the Workplace
Wed., Nov. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115

CHOOSING A MAJOR  AND TRANSFER PREPAREDNESS
Valuable tips, techniques and advice designed to help students choose a major, increase student success and learn transfer options, steps and timing. 

Choosing a Major
Thurs., Sept. 15, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Oct. 11, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Oct. 26, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Nov. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Dec. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Tue., Sept. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Oct. 19, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Nov. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115 
Mon., Dec. 5, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115 

Balancing School and Work
Wed., Sept. 28, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Oct. 18, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Nov. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Dec. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

How to Qualify for a Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)
Mon., Sept. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU & UC
Mon., Oct. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Thurs., Nov. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

CSU Mentor 
Tue., Sept. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Oct. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Nov. 15, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

WELLNESS
Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniques for decreasing and handling stress.

Meditation Group
Every Tues., Aug. 30-Dec. 13  from 10 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, PE-204

FLC Wisdom Book Group
Mondays  from 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Aug. 29
Sept. 26 
Oct. 3 
Oct. 10 
Oct. 31
Nov. 7
Nov. 14 
Nov. 21 
Dec. 12 

Write Your Way to Wellness
Wed., Sept. 21, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Manage Your Anxiety Workshop
Thurs., Dec. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238