• Class schedule now online

    Class schedule now online

    The Spring 2018 class schedule is online now! Click on the photo for more info.
    morenews
  • Marat/Sade

    Marat/Sade

    The Falcon's Eye Theatre's fall production will run Nov. 3-19
    morenews
  • Supporting Student Success

    Supporting Student Success

    Folsom Lake College offers a variety of free workshops to help students succeed
    morenews
  • Thanksgiving Recess

    Thanksgiving Recess

    The college will be closed for Thanksgiving Recess Nov. 23-26
    morenews
  • Final Exams

    Final Exams

    Click here for the Fall 2017 final exam schedule
    morenews
  • It Pays to Stay

    It Pays to Stay

    Need a little mid-term encouragement? Know that the education you are getting now WILL pay off.
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops Fall 2017

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
September 08, 2017

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the fall semester:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

Study Skills and Learning Styles
Tue., Sept. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Time Management
Tue., Oct. 10, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Thurs., Oct. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Exam Preparation
Tue., Nov. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Mindset and Grit
Thurs., Nov. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

On Course series:
Accept Self-Responsibility
Tue., Sept. 5, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Sept. 6, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Sept. 12, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125

Discover Self-Motivation
Tue., Sept. 19, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Sept. 19, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Wed., Sept. 20, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Master Self-Management
Tue., Sept. 26, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Oct. 3, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 4, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Employ Interdependence
Tue., Oct. 3, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Oct. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 18, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Gain Self-Awareness
Tue., Oct. 17, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Oct. 31, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 1, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Adopt Life-long Learning
Tue., Oct. 24, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Nov. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 15, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Develop Emotional Intelligence
Tue., Oct. 31, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Nov. 28, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Nov. 29, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

Believe in Yourself
Tue., Nov. 7, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC RCC1-125
Tue., Dec. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Dec. 13, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238


TUTORING

Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, the El Dorado Center, and the Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule. 

CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE & INTERNSHIPS
Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops.

21st Century Skills: Digital Fluency
Wed., Sept. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Thurs., Sept. 28, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

21st Century Skills: Adaptability
Wed., Oct. 11, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Wed., Oct. 18, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

21st Century Skills: Communication
Thurs., Nov. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238
Thurs., Nov. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall FL2-238

CHOOSING A MAJOR  AND TRANSFER PREPAREDNESS
Valuable tips, techniques and advice designed to help students choose a major, increase student success and learn transfer options, steps and timing. 

Choosing a Major
Thurs., Sept. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Sept. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tues., Oct. 10, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Oct. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tues., Nov. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Dec. 6 , 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Thurs., Sept. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Oct. 18 , 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tues., Nov. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Mon., Dec. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Balancing School and Work
Wed., Sept. 27, 1, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Oct. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Nov. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Dec. 5, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

How to Qualify for a Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)
Mon., Sept. 11, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Cal State Apply by Sac State Advisor
Tue., Sept. 26, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Oct. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU & UC
Mon., Oct. 23, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Thurs., Nov. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

WELLNESS
Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniques for decreasing and handling stress.

FLC Wisdom Book Group
Every Tuesday, Sept. 5 - Dec.12 (excluding Oct. 10, Nov. 21), 12:00-1:30pm, FLC Gymnasium, G-185

Meditation Group
Every Monday, Sept. 11 - Dec. 11 (excluding Oct. 9 and Nov. 20), 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Physical Education PE-204

Dealing with Anxiety
Wed., Oct. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Write Your Way to Wellness
Wed., Nov. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238