• Enroll Now for Summer

    Enroll Now for Summer

    Registration is underway - classes start week of June 5!
    morenews
  • Class schedules now online

    Class schedules now online

    The Summer and Fall class schedules are online now! Click on the photo for more info.
    morenews
  • 2017 Graduation Ceremony!

    2017 Graduation Ceremony!

    FLC's 2017 Commencement Ceremony will be held Wed., May 17 at 6:30pm
    morenews
  • Summer Blood Drive

    Summer Blood Drive

    It's time for the FLC Summer Blood Drive on Tues., June 20 from 10am-2pm
    morenews
  • Advanced Education

    Advanced Education

    High School students: Earn college credit now!
    morenews
  • It Pays to Stay

    It Pays to Stay

    Need a little mid-term encouragement? Know that the education you are getting now WILL pay off.
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops Spring 2017

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
January 25, 2017

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the Spring:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

Study Skills and Learning Styles
Tue., Jan. 31, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Thurs., Feb. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Time Management
Thurs., Mar. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, RCC RCC1-229
Tue., Mar. 14, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Mar. 15, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212

Exam Preparation
Tue., Apr. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Apr. 26, 12:00-1:00pm, EDC A-212
Thurs., Apr. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, RCC RCC1-229

On Course:
Accept Self-Responsibility
Tue., Jan. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Jan. 25, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Discover Self-Motivation
Tue., Feb. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Feb. 8, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Master Self-Management
Tue., Feb. 21, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Feb. 22, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Employ Interdependence
Tue., Mar. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Mar. 8, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Gain Self-Awareness
Tue., Mar. 21, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Mar. 22, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Adopt Life-long Learning
Tue., Apr. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Apr. 5, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Develop Emotional Intelligence
Tue., Apr. 18, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Apr. 19, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Believe in Yourself
Tue., May 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., May 10, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

TUTORING
Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, El Dorado Center, and Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule.

CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE & INTERNSHIPS
Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops.

Conversation with the Pros:
Careers in Human Services
Wed., Feb. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Careers in Nutrition
Wed., Mar. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Careers in Early Childhood Education
Tue., Mar. 21, 5:00-6:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Careers in Allied Health
Apr. (date, time & location TBD)

Employer Showcase with Starbucks Adn LifeSTEPS 
Wed., Feb. 8, 12:15-1:15pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room
Employer Showcase with VSP Global
Wed., Mar. 15, 12:15-1:15pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Portfolium: Your Digital Portfolio to Land Amazing Jobs or Internships
Thurs., Feb. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-108

Career Fair Prep & Interview Skills
Wed., Mar. 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Thurs., Mar. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238
Wed., Mar. 29, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115

How to Ace Any Job Interview
Thurs., Apr. 20 12:00-1:00pm FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Resume/Cover Letter Construction
Thurs., Mar. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-108
Tue., Mar. 21, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, Peregrine Room

Find Your Next Internship on LINCS or LaunchPath
Wed., Mar. 8, 12:00-1:15pm, FLC Liliac Hall, FL5-109

How to Create a Professional LinkedIn Profile
Thurs., Mar. 23, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Digital Fluency: Branding Your Online Presence
Thurs., Apr. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Falcon's Roost, FR-115

CHOOSING A MAJOR  AND TRANSFER PREPAREDNESS
Valuable tips, techniques and advice designed to help students choose a major, increase student success and learn transfer options, steps and timing. 

Balancing School and Work
Wed., Feb 1, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tues., Mar. 14, 8, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Mon., Apr. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., May 2, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Choosing a Major
Thurs., Feb. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Feb. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Mar. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Mon., Mar. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Apr.4, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Apr.19,  12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Thurs., May 4, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Tue., Feb., 14, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Wed., Mar. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Tue., Apr. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115 
Wed., May 3, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115 

Next Steps for Spring CSU & UC applicants
Thurs., Mar. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115
Mon., Apr. 3, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU & UC
Mon., Apr. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

How to Qualify for a Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)
Mon., May 1, 12:00-1:00pm, Falcon's Roost, FR-115

WELLNESS
Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniques for decreasing and handling stress.

Meditation Group
Every Monday starting Jan. 30, 12:00-12:55pm FLC Physical Education, PE-204 (See facilitator for full schedule))

FLC Wisdom Book Group
Every Tuesday starting Jan. 31, 12:30-1:30pm FLC Gymnasium, G-185 (See facilitator for full schedule)

Dealing with Anxiety
Wed., Feb. 15, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238

Write Your Way to Wellness
Wed., Mar., 1 12:00-1:00pm, FLC Cypress Hall, FL2-238