• Student Workshops

    Student Workshops

    Folsom Lake College offers a variety of free workshops to help students succeed
    morenews
  • Spotlight Night

    Spotlight Night

    Join us for a special career ed open house on Wed., Sept. 26 from 5:30-7:30pm
    morenews
  • Enroll Now for Fall

    Enroll Now for Fall

    Registration is underway - classes start week of August 25!
    morenews
  • Constitution Day

    Constitution Day

    On Sept. 17, FLC will acknowledge and celebrate the United States Constitution
    morenews
  • Fall Blood Drive

    Fall Blood Drive

    It's time for the FLC Fall Blood Drive!
    morenews
  • Auditions for Fall Play

    Auditions for Fall Play

    Falcon’s Eye Theatre auditions for its fall production of "Macbeth" Sept. 10
    morenews
If you have javascript disabled, click here to view the content

Home >  Community >  College News >  News Archive >  Student Success Workshops Spring 2018

Supporting Student Success

FLC PISO
January 25, 2018

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

FLC wants YOU to succeed!

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the Spring:

ACADEMIC SUCCESS
A wide variety of workshops are offered to help you succeed in your classes and reach your goals. Check out your options, as there is something for everyone!

On Course Principles:
Accept Self-Responsibility
Tue., Jan. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Jan. 30, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Jan. 31, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Discover Self-Motivation
Tue., Feb. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Feb. 6, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Feb. 7, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Master Self-Management
Tue., Feb. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Feb. 20, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Feb. 28, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Employ Interdependence
Tue., Mar. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Mar. 6, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Mar. 7, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Gain Self-Awareness
Tue., Mar. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, FL,C Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Mar. 20, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Mar. 21, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Adopt Life-long Learning
Tue., Apr. 10, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Apr. 10, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Apr. 11, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Develop Emotional Intelligence
Tue., Apr. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., Apr. 24, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., Apr. 25, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Believe in Yourself
Tue., May 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Tue., May 1, 4:00-4:50pm, RCC, RCC1-211
Wed., May 2, 4:30-5:30pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238


TUTORING

Folsom Lake College is committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the main Folsom campus, El Dorado Center, and Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedule.


CAREER PREPAREDNESS, WORK EXPERIENCE & INTERNSHIPS

Get a jumpstart on your career with these helpful workshops.

Resume Labs
Thu., Feb. 1, 1:00-3:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Thu., Mar. 1, 1:00-3:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115  
Thu., Apr. 5, 1:00-3:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115  
Thu., May 3, 1:00-3:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Networking Matters: Everything You Need to Know
Thu., Feb. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Thu., Mar. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Apr. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

How to Have a Wow Interview
Thu., Mar. 8, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Thu., Apr. 26, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

How to Write a Resume for an Internship
Thu., Mar. 29, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

How to Prepare for the Internship & Job Fair (Fair is Wed., Apr. 18, 10:30am-1:30pm, FLC Quad)
Wed., Apr. 11, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238
Thu., Apr. 12, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115 
Mon., Apr. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238


CHOOSING A MAJOR  AND TRANSFER PREPAREDNESS
Valuable tips, techniques and advice designed to help students choose a major, increase student success and learn transfer options, steps and timing. 

Choosing a Major
Tue., Jan. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Wed., Feb. 21, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Mar. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Apr. 3, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Apr. 17, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Wed., May 9, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Tue., Feb. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Wed., Mar. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Apr. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Wed., May 2, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Balancing School and Work
Wed., Feb. 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Mar. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Mon., Apr. 23, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., May 1, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Sac State Admissions
Tue., Feb. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., Mar. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Tue., May 8, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Next Steps for Spring CSU & UC Applicants
Thurs., Mar., 15, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115
Mon., Apr. 2, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

UC Davis: Intro to TAP and TAG
Mon., Mar. 19, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Next Steps for UC Davis
Mon., May 7, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU & UC
Mon., Apr. 16, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115

How to Qualify for a Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG)
Mon., Apr. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Falcon's Roost FR-115


HEALTH & WELLNESS

Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniques for decreasing and handling stress.

Meditation Group
Every Mon., Feb. 5-Apr. 23, 12:00-12:55pm, FLC, Physical Education PE-204

FLC Wisdom Book Group
Every Tue., Jan. 30-May 1, 12:00-1:30pm, FLC, Gymnasium G-185

Managing Your Anxiety
Tue., Feb. 13, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238

Write Your Way to Wellness
Wed., Apr. 4, 12:00-1:00pm, FLC, Cypress Hall FL2-238