Student Workshops

FLC PISO
September 13, 2018

Folsom Lake College supports you with a full lineup of free workshops throughout the fall semester. Note: All workshops are held at the Main Folsom campus, unless otherwise noted. See the full calendar for other campus activities.

Academic Success

Workshops to help you succeed inside and outside of the classroom.

Choosing a Major
Thu., Sept. 20, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Wed., Oct. 10, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Tues., Oct. 30, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Decision Making and Goal Setting
Tues., Oct. 23, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Balancing School and Work
Thu., Sept. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Wed., Oct. 31, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Transfer and Career Preparedness

Valuable advice designed to help you learn your transfer options, steps, and timing, and prepare you for your future career/job.

Cal State Apply by Sacramento State Advisor
Tue., Sept. 25, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Wed., Oct. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

California Internship Network
Thu., Sept. 27, 12:00-1:00pm, Peregrine Room (Falcon's Roost FR-240)

Resume and Interview Workshops & Labs
Thu., Oct. 4, 1:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Nov. 1, 1:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Dec. 6, 1:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Preparing to Transfer to a CSU & UC
Mon., Oct. 22, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Nov. 15, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

UC/CSU Drop-in Transfer Application Lab
Mon., Nov. 5, 12:00-2:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Mon., Nov. 19, 12:00-2:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

UC/CSU Drop-in Transfer Application Review
Mon., Oct. 15, 12:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Oct. 25, 12:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Nov. 15, 1:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Mon., Nov. 26, 12:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Thu., Nov. 29, 12:00-3:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Sacramento State Admissions Overview
Tue., Oct. 9, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)
Tue., Nov. 6, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

UC Davis Intro to Application, TAP, and TAG
Mon., Oct. 29, 12:00-1:00pm, Career & Transfer Center (Falcon's Roost FR-115)

Health and Wellness

Manage your life with proven tips and relaxation techniques for decreasing and handling stress.

The FLC Wisdom Book Group (Fall selection: "Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood" by Trevor Noah)
Every Tue., Sept. 18-Dec. 18, 12:00-1:30pm, Gymnasium G-185

Write Your Way to Wellness
Wed., Oct. 10, 12:00-1:00pm, SOAR Central (Cypress Hall FL2-238)

Happiness Potential
Wed., Oct. 24, 12:00-1:00pm, SOAR Central (Cypress Hall FL2-238)

Exploring the Innovation Center/Makerspace

Fun and creative workshops that connect and build our "Maker" family, utilizing the college's makerspace, the Innovation Center.

Innovation Center Job and Internship Research
Thu., Sept. 13, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Tue., Oct. 16, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Tue., Dec. 4, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Adobe Illustrator
Tue., Sept. 18, 11:00am-12:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Tue., Oct. 9, 1:00-2:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Tue., Oct. 23, 11:00am-12:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Laser Cutting
Thu., Sep. 20, 10:30-11:30am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Thu., Sept. 27, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Tue., Nov. 13, 11:00am-12:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Maker Resumes and Cover Letters
Tue., Sept. 25, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Thu., Oct. 25, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Thu., Nov. 15, 10:00-11:00am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Studio Recording
Wed., Oct. 3, 1:00-2:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Wed., Oct. 17, 2:00-3:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Wed., Nov. 7, 2:00-3:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Wed., Nov. 28, 2:00-3:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

3D Printing
Part 1 of 3: Tue., Oct. 30, 11:00am-12:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Part 2 of 3: Thu., Nov. 1, 1:00-2:00p, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)
Part 3 of 3: Tue., Nov. 6, 1:00-2:00pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Tailoring
Tue., Nov. 27, 11:00am-12:00p, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Jewelry Making
Thu., Dec. 6, 10:30-11:30am, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Axi-Draw
Thu., Dec. 13, 1:30-2:30pm, Innovation Center (Aspen Hall FL1-130)

Tutoring

Folsom Lake College is also committed to supporting student success by providing free, drop-in tutoring. Tutoring is available at the Main Folsom campus, the El Dorado Center, and the Rancho Cordova Center. Click here for more information and the latest schedules.

Property of © Folsom Lake College