Sign up for Fall
Looking for open classes?
Community Observatory Invites You
What's your story?
Los Rios Gmail
Apply for Admissions Online
Who may attend?
Academic and Other Policies
Fee and Refund Information
Orientation for New Students - information
WHO MAY ATTEND?
Folsom Lake College is open to those individuals who are high school graduates (or the equivalent) or who are at least 18 years of age and able to profit from the instruction offered. Students under 18 who have not completed high school may be admitted upon the recommendation of their high school and approval of the college. A completed application with declared residency must be submitted for all students prior to enrolling in classes.
Courses Open to All
Every course, course section, or class offered by the Los Rios Community College District that receives state support is open to you if you have been admitted to the college and meet the course requirements (prerequisites) unless specifically exempted by law, and as may be established to Chapter II, Division 2, Part VI, Title 5 of the California Administrative Code, commencing with Section 51006.
Students requesting reclassification of their residency status to California resident must complete the Residency Reclassification Application (see link below) AND submit at least 2 forms of documentation that support the application (click here for examples of documentation we will accept). State requirements to become a California resident are described in the California Education Code and California Code of Regulations (Title 5).
Under California law, to be reclassified from a non-resident to a California resident, a student must clearly demonstrate:
1. Physical presence in California,
2. Intent to reside in California permanently, and
3. Financial independence, if the student was classified as non-resident in a preceding term.
Physical presence in the State of California for one year does not automatically qualify a student as a California resident. To be eligible for California residency, you must:
- Be a U.S. citizen or hold a U.S. Immigration status that does not prevent establishment of residency. The following visa status holders cannot establish residency regardless of the length of time in California: B-1, B-2, C, D-1, D-2, F-1, F-2, H-2, H-3, J-1, J-2, M-1, M-2, O-2, P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, Q and TN/TD. *
- Verify physical presence in California one year and one day prior to the first day of the semester (the residency determination date).
- Clearly verify intent to make California your permanent place of residence.
- Establish financial independence from a non-resident parent or guardian.
* If you are the holder of a visa type that prohibits establishment of residency but you have filed for a change of status, then you are able to submit a request for residency reclassification. Your residency determination date is based on the date of your application of change of status (submit copy of the Notice of Action from INS for the status adjustment).
A student must establish his/her own residency. A student's residency cannot be derived from his/her spouse or domestic partner.
Students under 19 years of age and unmarried derive California residency from their parents. The parents must meet the eligibility requirements and provide required documentation demonstrating physical presence in California and intent to make California their permanent residence.
Students 19 years of age or older may not derive residency from a parent, unless the student is financially dependent upon the parent. When a student is financially dependent, the documents submitted must show dependency of the student and the California residency of the parent or guardian.
California AB 540: Non-Resident Exemption
California non-residents who have graduated from a California high school (or attained a California GED or equivalent) and attended a California high school for at least three years may qualify for the AB540 non-resident tuition exemption. If you feel you are eligible for this exemption, please download and complete the form (see below) and submit to the A&R office along with an official copy of your high school transcript(s).
Reclassification of Residency - Appointment to Submit Application/Documentation
You must make an appointment with Lupe Martinez in order to submit your residency reclassification paperwork. Please call 916-608-6568 for your appointment. In order to not be dropped from your classes due to non-payment of fees, you should initiate your residency reclassification PRIOR to enrollment in classes.